Executive Committee

The executive committee serves the purpose of maintaining the traditions of the UISPP and follows the development of the activities within the UISPP. It works in collaboration with the bureau, when asked, to represent the UISPP and to follow up the activities of the scientific commissions.

The executive committee follows up the progress of the organization of the world congress, does only intervene in the organization of it when unexpected events appear or when important delays in the program proposed by the organizing institution are noted.

Current EC members Role Email
Janusz Kozlowski President
Ya-Mei HOU Vice-President
Abdoulaye Camara Vice-President
Robert Wallon Vice-President
Luiz Oosterbeek General Secretary
Marta Arzarello Deputy Secretary
François Djindjian Treasurer + C. President
Árpád Ringer Commission President
Stefano Campana Commission President
Barbara E.Barich Commission President
Bela Törok Commission President
Berit V. Eriksen Commission President
Emmanuel Anati Commission President
Éric Boëda Commission President
Erika M. Robrahn-González Commission President
Eva David Commission President
Françoise Bostyn Commission President
Rebecca Peake Commission President
Geoff Bailey Commission President
Marc-Antoine Kaeser Commission President
Marcel Otte Commission President
Marie Besse Commission President
Moustapha Sall Commission President
Natalia Skakun Commission President
Nicholas J Conard Commission President
Pablo Arias Commission President
Robert Sala i Ramos Commission President
Roberto Ontañón-Peredo Commission President
Sandrine Robert Commission President
Stefano Grimaldi Commission President
Valeriu Sirbu Commission President
Victor Paz Commission President
Sławek Kadrow Commission President
François Giligny XVIII Congress Secretary


The bureau of the UISPP is consisting of the president, the general secretary and the treasurer of the UISPP.

The president is in charge of:

  1. representing the UISPP at the world congresses of the UISPP and for all the relations with official organizations related to the UISPP,
  2. representing the UISPP at other activities and events of the UISPP, or being represented by a delegate,
  3. fixing the agenda of the general assembly and of the meetings of the executive committee,
  4. convening and chairing the general assembly and the meetings of the executive committee.

The general secretary executes all current business within the UISPP. In relation with the bureau, he is in charge of the good operation of the UISPP and of:

  1. preparing the meetings of the executive committee,
  2. taking all necessary decisions in case of urgency, after having consulted and informed the bureau,
  3. executing all current business of the UISPP,
  4. Organizing the relations with the CIPSH and with the affiliated organizations, as well as with any other organization in contact with the UISPP.

The treasurer is in charge of:

  1. managing the finances of the UISPP,
  2. presenting yearly a financial report to the executive committee,
  3. presenting a multiannual financial report to the general assembly, each time this assembly meets.

General Assembly

The general assembly consists of all individuals who are properly registered at the UISPP and in order of payment of their membership fee as well as of the honorary members.

The general assembly approves by majority of the voting members deciding:

  1. The creation or removal of scientific commissions
  2. The creation or removal of special committees
  3. All other matters related to the objectives of the UISPP as stated in the constitution

The general assembly approves by majority of two third (2/3) of the voting members deciding:

  1. The exclusion of individual or affiliated members
  2. The changes in the statutes
  3. The dissolution of the UISPP
  4. The revocation of a member of the board

Scientific Commissions

The general assembly decides of the creation of scientific commissions, after advice of the executive committee. Their objective is to promote and coordinate internationally research in a specific or specialized domain of the prehistoric and protohistoric sciences between each world congress. The commissions are grouped into six larger domains. This list is not limited.

  1. Historiography, methods and theories (history of archaeology, theories and methods in archaeology, various methods used in the archaeology and related to sciences, natural sciences, applied sciences, biological sciences, social sciences, economic sciences, etc.),
  2. Culture, economy and environments (specific periods, diachronic themes, regional peculiarities),
  3. Archaeology of specific environments (deserts, mountains, volcanic areas, coastal areas, islands, etc.),
  4. Art and culture (all forms of artistic expression during prehistory and protohistory, including parietal art and mobile art),
  5. Archaeology and societies (interaction between archaeology and current society, including strategies for heritage management or for scientific research, and questions of the public).

The principal activities of a scientific commission are:

  1. The setting up of an annual meeting of the commission, to elaborate an activity program for the next year and accept the report of the previous meeting,
  2. The dispersion of an electronic newsletter, at least once a year, for the members of the commission, with copy to the secretary general and with a list of all the members of the commission, as well as their corresponding email and postal address,
  3. The organization of scientific activities (colloquia, conferences, sessions, thematic schools) during each UISPP world congress and at least once in between; these activities are published.

Special Committees

The general assembly, after advice of the executive committee, can create special committees dedicated to specific tasks or a global project of the UISPP. It concerns specific publications or a collection of scientific publications.

Honorary Committee

The honorary committee is a consultative organ that contributes to the continuity and coherence of the activities within UISPP. It is composed of honorary members. Honorary members are researchers and personalities with a large international contribution to the prehistoric or protohistoric sciences. They are nominated by the general assembly, after advice of the executive committee of the UISPP.

Affiliated Organisations

Affiliated members are national or international institutions or associations that proclaim to share the same objectives of the UISPP, either at a regional, national or continental scale, or in a specialized field of prehistoric or protohistoric archaeology. Based on the same principle, the UISPP can adjoin non-governmental national organizations that are considered to be representative of their country. Affiliated members pay a yearly contribution. Membership of the UISPP is automatically cancelled in case of non-payment of the yearly contribution.